- The Truth About EX288 "Exam Dates" in 2026
- How Booking and Scheduling Actually Work
- Check the OpenShift Version Before You Book
- What You Are Scheduling: Format and Duration
- Fees, Free Second Attempt, and Budget Timing
- Planning Backward From Your Exam Date
- Remote Exam Day Logistics
- Results Timing, Validity, and Renewal Dates
- Frequently Asked Questions
- EX288 is administered by Red Hat itself, so availability depends on exact-exam booking slots rather than a fixed annual testing window.
- The current public exam page lists OpenShift Container Platform 4.22; confirm the version on your booking before you commit.
- The exam runs 4 hours of hands-on work on a live OpenShift environment, not multiple-choice questions.
- Standard list price is USD 500, and an initially purchased paid exam includes one free second attempt.
The Truth About EX288 "Exam Dates" in 2026
Search results for EX288 exam dates often imply a published calendar: a spring window, a fall window, a registration deadline. For Red Hat Certified Advanced Developer in Cloud-native Applications, no such fixed calendar is verified in Red Hat's public material. What exists instead is a booking system: Red Hat offers proctored remote exams, individual testing-station exams, and classroom-delivered exams, and the dates you can choose depend on what is available for that exact exam at the time you book.
That distinction matters for planning. You are not trying to hit a registration deadline; you are trying to find an available slot that fits your preparation, and to confirm that slot is for the correct exam version. If you want the broader picture of what this credential is before scheduling, the explainer at What Is EX288? covers the basics, and EX288 Certification covers the credential itself.
How Booking and Scheduling Actually Work
Red Hat administers its own examinations. No Pearson VUE or PSI appointment is verified for EX288, so do not go looking for a third-party scheduling portal. Your booking path runs through Red Hat's certification program.
Delivery options
| Delivery Mode | What It Means | Scheduling Consideration |
|---|---|---|
| Remote proctored | You sit the exam from your own location under proctoring | Requires compatible equipment meeting the booked exam's technical rules |
| Individual testing station | You test at a Red Hat testing location | Availability depends on station slots for the exact exam |
| Classroom exam | Delivered in a training setting | Tied to the classroom event schedule |
Each mode is subject to exact-exam booking availability, so a mode that is open for one exam may not be open for another. If your preferred date does not appear, check alternate modes and nearby dates before assuming the exam is unavailable.
A practical booking sequence
- Open the current EX288 exam page on Red Hat's site and read the objectives and the listed OpenShift version.
- Review the exam objectives against your own readiness (the full objective list is mapped in EX288 Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 11 Content Areas).
- Choose a delivery mode and look at available slots for that exact exam.
- Confirm the version and technical requirements shown in the booking details before paying.
- Complete checkout and save your confirmation, including any technical-check instructions.
Check the OpenShift Version Before You Book
This is the single most important scheduling detail for EX288, and the one most candidates overlook. The current public exam page specifies OpenShift Container Platform 4.22. Red Hat does not publish a separately dated blueprint year for the exam, and multiple versions can coexist, so the version tied to your actual booking is what governs your preparation.
The surrounding material is not perfectly consistent, which is exactly why you should verify rather than assume:
- The DO288 course page, which is preparation curriculum rather than an exam blueprint, also describes 4.22.
- The DO289 course-with-exam page still states 4.18.
- A public Udemy listing updated in August 2026 also states 4.18 and three hours, which conflicts with the exam page's four hours. It is third-party preparation metadata, not exam authority.
The version question also shapes your lab setup. Practicing on a cluster that differs from your exam version can leave you fluent in console layouts or command behavior that have since changed. For more on matching your preparation to the target, see EX288 Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.
What You Are Scheduling: Format and Duration
Knowing the format helps you pick a sensible start time. EX288 is performance-based: you work on a live Red Hat OpenShift environment and complete hands-on tasks. There is no multiple-choice question bank. The current exam page lists a duration of 4 hours. The exact task count and the scored versus unscored breakdown are not publicly specified, so avoid any source that claims a precise number of questions.
Your configurations are assessed against objective criteria, and your work must persist through the normal platform lifecycle without intervention. In practice, that means a deployment that works only until a pod restarts, or a build that works only when manually triggered, is not finished. Relevant product documentation is supplied during the exam, and outside assistance is prohibited.
What the 4-hour window rewards
With four hours of live-cluster work, time management is a skill the exam tests indirectly.
- Fast, accurate use of the
occommand line and the supplied documentation - Verifying persistence: confirming that configurations survive restarts and rebuilds
- Recovering quickly from a failed build or stuck deployment instead of rewriting from scratch
If you are weighing how demanding this format is, How Hard Is the EX288 Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 goes deeper, and EX288 Passing Score 2026 explains why no verified numeric threshold exists (third-party claims such as 210/300 or 300/500 are not issuer-confirmed).
Fees, Free Second Attempt, and Budget Timing
The standard certification-exam list price in Red Hat's program guide is USD 500. Regional pricing and the actual EX288 checkout may differ, so treat that figure as a reference and confirm the amount at checkout. No member versus non-member price difference is published in the reviewed Red Hat material.
The scheduling-relevant feature is the retake policy: under the current program policy, an initially purchased paid exam comes with one free second attempt. That changes how you should think about timing. Booking your first attempt with a realistic buffer, rather than waiting until you feel perfectly ready, is reasonable when a second attempt is already covered. It is not an excuse to sit unprepared, but it does reduce the cost of a misjudged date. Confirm the exact terms, including any conditions on when the second attempt must be used, in the program guide before relying on it.
For a fuller view of what this credential costs across preparation and exam, see EX288 Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Planning Backward From Your Exam Date
Because EX288 is hands-on across 11 objective areas, the most useful scheduling exercise is to pick a target date and assign objectives to the weeks before it. Red Hat publishes no percentage weights for these objectives, so sequence them by dependency rather than by assumed weight: later topics build on earlier ones.
Platform and multi-container foundations
- Work with Red Hat OpenShift Container Platform: projects, resources, and the CLI
- Deploy multi-container applications and confirm how services connect
- Work with container images in OpenShift Container Platform
Builds, images, and configuration
- Work with image streams and understand how they feed deployments
- Work with configuration maps and secrets, including injection into workloads
- Work with the source-to-image (S2I) framework
Automation and lifecycle
- Work with build hooks and build triggers
- Work with templates and parameterized deployments
- Work with OpenShift Pipelines
- Work with Operators accessible for users to run in their applications
Troubleshooting and timed rehearsal
- Troubleshoot application builds and deployment issues across every earlier area
- Run at least one full four-hour rehearsal on a cluster matching your exam version
Troubleshooting sits in the final week on purpose: it is a skill you can only exercise once you have built things that can break. The same goes for build hooks and triggers, which depend on understanding S2I and image streams first. This plan is a template; stretch or compress it depending on how much hands-on OpenShift time you already have. Hands-on repetition matters more than reading, and a structured set of timed scenarios from the EX288 practice test site can help you check readiness before you lock in a date.
Key Takeaway
Pick your exam date first, then count backward. Reserve the last week for troubleshooting and a full timed rehearsal, and do not book a slot until you know the exam version matches the cluster you have been practicing on.
Remote Exam Day Logistics
If you choose remote delivery, scheduling is about more than the calendar slot. Remote delivery requires compatible equipment and proctoring under the booked examination's technical rules. Read those rules at booking time rather than the night before. A few practical points follow from them:
- Run any available system or connectivity check well before exam day, not minutes before start.
- Prepare a quiet, controlled space consistent with the proctoring requirements in your booking instructions.
- Choose a start time when you are mentally sharp for four continuous hours, and allow buffer on either side for check-in.
- Know in advance what supplied documentation is available inside the exam environment so you practice navigating it, not an outside bookmark list.
Results Timing, Validity, and Renewal Dates
When results arrive
Red Hat's sources disagree slightly. The exam page says results are usually available within 3 US business days and reported as total scores. The general program guide says within 5 business days, with objective-area feedback. Neither provides individual exam-item feedback. That inconsistency is unresolved in the published material, so plan around the longer window: if the result affects a job start date or a renewal deadline, do not schedule so tightly that a 5-business-day wait causes a problem.
How long the credential lasts
The credential is current for 3 years. Renewal timing is also where Red Hat's pages conflict. The dated May 2026 framework and FAQ describe renewing by retaking the highest-level exam, adding a certification at the same level, or advancing to a higher level within the framework. The program guide supports retaking the original exam. A legacy renewal landing page still says Specialist credentials can be renewed only by retaking their respective exams and uses "non-current" rather than "expiration" language. Prefer the May 2026 FAQ for the updated policy, and note that retaking EX288 is the commonly verified route. No EX288-specific CEU route is published.
The practical advice: renew while the credential is still current, and check your transcript and the applicable rules rather than waiting for a lapse. Also note that Red Hat's May 11, 2026 framework update renamed the former Specialist in OpenShift Application Development credential to the current title, so older references to that name may describe this same credential. Separately, an Engineer in Cloud-native Applications path requires EX188 and EX288, but that combined credential is a different thing and not the subject of this article.
If you are weighing whether the investment of time and exam fees pays off, see Is the EX288 Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and the roles outlined in EX288 Jobs.
Frequently Asked Questions
No fixed testing window or registration deadline is verified in Red Hat's public material. Red Hat administers the exam through remote, testing-station, and classroom delivery, and the dates you can book depend on availability for the exact exam at the time you schedule.
The current public exam page specifies OpenShift Container Platform 4.22. However, multiple versions can coexist, and some course pages and third-party listings still state 4.18. Confirm the version shown in your own booking before you start practicing for a specific release.
The current exam page lists 4 hours of performance-based work on a live Red Hat OpenShift environment. It is hands-on, not multiple-choice. The exact task count is not publicly specified, and your final configurations are assessed against objective criteria.
Under the current program policy, an initially purchased paid exam includes one free second attempt. The standard list price is USD 500, though regional pricing and checkout may differ. Check the program guide for the exact conditions on using the retake.
The exam page says results are usually available within 3 US business days, while the general program guide says within 5 business days. Since the sources conflict, plan around the longer window if a deadline depends on your result.
Scheduling EX288 comes down to three checks: confirm the exam version on your booking, pick a slot only after a full timed rehearsal on a matching cluster, and leave buffer for the results window. When you are ready to test your readiness before committing to a date, the EX288 practice tests are a good place to start, and the EX288 Cheat Sheet 2026 offers a quick final review.